Rise of the Nymphs

Only a couple of days after we polished off their parents (for our delicious locust tortilla recipe please click here) little locust nymphs started hatching, repopulating the locust tank. This post is a little overdue – I’ve already got around four or five hundred nymphs.

IMGA0032

These guys are tinsy wee, each a little smaller than a grain of rice.  They are a pale tan when they first emerge, but soon turn a much darker brownish black before digging in to the available grass and lettuce on offer.  This time around I’ll be able to follow our locusts through all five instars, or stages of development.  I expect hatching to continue for the next couple of week, with up to 1000 nymphs expected.  A few nymphs have moulted already and are on their second instar.

Nymphs

Nymphs

The weather is slowly improving and I’ve switched my 100watt bulb for a 60watt one – I’ll be keeping a close eye on the baby locusts to see how they respond.

My order for mealworms goes in next week, and I’ll put up a post describing the set up I’m using.  One poor lady in Auckland got a few more mealworms than she bargained for recently – but I’m glad to see entomologist Ruud Kleinpaste advising the nutritional value (and tastiness) of these insects.

Entomophagy continues to grow in popularity, and I particularly liked the sushi-esque presentation of the insects in this article. I’ve got six weeks or so to think up a suitable Christmas dinner recipe for my locust herd.

2 responses to “Rise of the Nymphs

  1. Fantastic blog! I’ve been toying with the idea of doing something similar and I’m enjoying reading about your experience. I’m glad everything seems to be going well so far, good luck with the future and I look forward to seeing more!

    • Cheers – so far it’s been a fun and satisfying experiment. I’ve been slack with the blog whilst waiting for the locusts to reach maturity, but will post a new recipe today.

Leave a Reply

